Book Reviews

The order here is roughly the date order of the reviews. Click on Title to sort into alphabetical order.

Other reviews are available: David Carlton's Go Bibliography has reviews of many books, Go Books which has some showing book covers and other reviews can often be found on Sensei's Library or on Amazon or publishers' websites.

Titlesort icon From
100 Challenging Go Problems for 100 Days of Study

American e-Journal review, republished by permission of the American Go Association

Reviewer: Philip Waldron

ISBN 0-9641847-4-5

Common wisdom holds that one of the best ways to get stronger at go is to study problems. Opinion differs on whether to

100 Tips

BGJ 144 Spring 2008

Reviewer: Tony Atkins

ISBN 978-89-90079-60-2

Volume 2 also available ISBN 978-89-90079-69-5

Some of you will have met Youngsun Yoon at events such as

1001 Life and Death Problems

BGJ 129 Winter 2002

Reviewer: Matthew Macfadyen

ISBN 4-906574-72-6

501 Opening Problems by Richard Bozulich and Rob van Zeist and 1001 Life and Death

501 Opening Problems

BGJ 129 Winter 2002

Reviewer: Matthew Macfadyen

ISBN 4-906574-72-6

501 Opening Problems by Richard Bozulich and Rob van Zeist and 1001 Life and Death Problems

A Way of Play for the 21st Century

BGJ 123 Summer 2001

Reviewer: Matthew Macfadyen

ISBN 0-9676096-1-5

Go books appear at such a rate nowadays that the habits of the 1970’s, when most of the keener players read all the

All About Ko

BGJ 145 Summer 2008

Reviewer: Tony Atkins

ISBN 4-906574-76-6

As I mentioned in the last journal, because there are so many Go books, I tend to choose books where I know the authors

Baduk Made Fun and Easy

BGJ 140 Spring 2007

Reviewer: Ian Davis

ISBN 89-5660-167-4

”Baduk Made Fun and Easy” is a new book written by the Korean Chihyung Nam, 1p. As you might guess, it’s written for

Creative Life and Death

BGJ 149 Summer 2009

Reviewer: Matthew Crosby

ISBN 978-89-90079-83-1

In her preface to Creative Life and Death, Hye-yeon Cho hopes that we can 'learn many wisdoms

Cross-Cut Workshop

BGJ 125 Winter 2001

Reviewer: Brian Timmins

ISBN 0-9706193-6-7

Somewhere around 12 kyu I discovered that if I was in trouble against a weaker opponent then one retaliation,

Dictionary of Basic Joseki

American e-Journal review, republished by permission of the American Go Association

Reviewer: Philip Waldron

Whatever their playing strength, every go player been caught in an unknown joseki sequence and found themselves wondering whether the game would be over