Non-Current Tournaments: Last Title Holder

Current Tournaments Junior (Youth) Winners Current Tournaments
Past Winners
Non-Current Tournaments
with Winners

Click on Title, Title Holder or Tournament Type to sort into that order

Titlesort icon Current Champion Description trophy
Youth Small Board
Youth Grand Prix Edmund Smith

This runs throughout the year and is not a specific tournament. Junior players score points for each tournament they enter, with additional points being scored for each game that they win.

The top three players at the end of the year hold the trophies for a year and receive a winners' certificate plus a cash prize, presented at the British Youth Go Championship. Cash prizes of £50, £30 and £20 are provided from a fund set up in memory of John Rickard, 4 dan.

Current points

The rules are:

  1. Qualifying tournaments are all tournaments held in the UK and open to entrants from anywhere in the UK. Every tournament has a maximum number of points that you can score there. For most Go tournaments this is 100 points. For the Youth Championships, it is 200 points.
  2. You get 40% of the points just for turning up. For the other 60% you score in proportion to points scored in the tournament. For example, if you win 2 out of 3 in a tournament worth 100 points, you score 40 plus two thirds of 60, i.e. 80 in total.
  3. All under-18s (age as at 1st September of the previous year) can score points. (Note: we are often asked why September of the previous year rather than January of the current year. The reason is to link the age requirement to the school year.)
  4. The competition runs for a calendar year with the London Open counting as the last tournament. Prizes will be awarded at the Youth Championships in the following year.
York John Smith
Womens' (Ladies) Championship Alison Jones

This tournament was formerly held primarily to select a British entry for the World Women’s Amateur Go Tournament.

Women's Weekend Helen Harvey

Played during the sometimes held Women's Training Weekend.

The trophy is the Eva Wilson Go Ban.

West Surrey Handicap Malcolm Hagan

Was the RTP Handicap 1987-89

Ceased in 2011

Wessex Tongzhou Cai

One of the oldest events in the UK, this event was for many years run by Bristol club in the town hall in Marlborough in Wiltshire, a location chosen to easy driving in pre-motorway days. It then moved to Keynsham before settling down in Bath, with that club taking over running it.

Now a 3 round McMahon, but formerly 4 rounds, taking advantage of the extra hour of its traditional date, the Sunday summer time ends.

The trophy was presented by Robnor Paints of Stratton St Margaret.

Welwyn Garden City Paul Taylor

A 3-round McMahon originally held in the Welwyn Garden City Bridge Club room at Gosling Stadium in Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire.

Welsh Open Alistair Wall

Apart from the first year, which was 3 rounds on one day, this is a 5-round McMahon tournament held over a weekend in June. It has always been held in the West Wales seaside resort of Barmouth.