Pandanet Go European Team Championship 2018/2019

Tournament Name: 
Pandanet Go European Team Championship
Tournament Date: 
2 October 2018 - 7 May 2019
Pandanet Logo

This is the 9th season of a team competition played online on Pandanet (IGS) in its own room called "EuropeanTeamChamp". Pandanet kindly sponsor the League, and the top four teams in the top division attend over-the-board finals at the European Go Congress.

The UK team is captained by Sandy Taylor. Matches are four players a side, made up of available players from the registered team. The Championship is split into four leagues, originally by average rating of the best team members, but with promotion/demotion from the previous year. The UK is in the B League, as last year. Games are played every three or four weeks.

For more information visit Pandanet Go European Team Championship.

Current season results and league tables

UK results for other seasons

Final score:
0 wins, 1 draw, 0 losses
5th position

British Team

Name, IGS Handle, rating (grade)

  1. Andrew Simons, Uberdude, 2376 (4d)
  2. Bruno Poltronieri, FrenchDude, 2317 (3d)
  3. Chris Bryant, SimbaRules, 2284 (3d)
  4. Alex Kent, saraneth, 2284 (3d)
  5. Jon Diamond, mumps, 2253 (3d)
  6. Sandy Taylor, afar, 2224 (3d) -- captain
  7. Des Cann, Shuko, 2207 (3d)
  8. Tim Hunt, timhunt, 2192 (2d)
  9. Jamie Taylor, gloooomph, 2160 (2d)
  10. Joanne Leung, joannel, 2160 (1d)
  11. Toby Manning, TobyM, 1992 (1k)
  12. Jonathan McManus, Teddy, 1887 (2k)


02 Oct - Denmark19 Feb - Switzerland
30 Oct - Serbia 19 Mar - Norway
20 Nov - Belgium 16 Apr - Sweden
11 Dec - Netherlands7 May - Turkey
22 Jan - Austria


Tuesday 02 October - Denmark - 2-2

  1. Alex Kent (B) lost to Jannik Rasmusson (JRDK, 4d) by Resignation sgf
  2. Sandy Taylor (W) beat Mathis Isaksen (Yaka) by 1.5 sgf
  3. Des Cann (B) lost to Ruairi Powell (Ruairi) by Resignation sgf
  4. Toby Manning (W) beat Morten Eske Nielsen (Eske, 1k) by Resignation sgf

Last updated Fri Oct 12 2018. If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.