Pandanet Go European Team Championship 2019/2020

Tournament Name: 
Pandanet Go European Team Championship
Tournament Date: 
1 October 2019 - 19 May 2020
Pandanet Logo

This is the 10th season of a team competition played online on Pandanet (IGS) in its own room called "EuropeanTeamChamp". Pandanet kindly sponsor the League, and the top four teams in the top division attend over-the-board finals at the European Go Congress.

The UK team is captained by Sandy Taylor. Matches are four players a side, made up of available players from the registered team. The Championship is split into four leagues, originally by average rating of the best team members, but with promotion/demotion from the previous year. The UK is in the B League, as last year. Games are played every three or four weeks.

For more information visit Pandanet Go European Team Championship.

Current season results and league table

UK results for other seasons

Current score:
3 wins, 1 draw, 2 losses
4th position

British Team

Name, IGS Handle, rating (grade)

  1. Andrew Simons, Uberdude, 2382 (4d)
  2. Bruno Poltronieri, FrenchDude, 2319 (3d)
  3. Alex Kent, saraneth, 2283 (3d)
  4. Jon Diamond, mumps, 2247 (3d)
  5. Sandy Taylor, afar, 2239 (3d) -- captain
  6. Des Cann, Shuko, 2185 (3d)
  7. Jamie Taylor, gloooomph, 2175 (1d)
  8. Joanne Leung, joannel, 2154 (2d)
  9. Toby Manning, TobyM, 2062 (1d)


01 Oct - Sweden 04 Feb - Lithuania
29 Oct - Turkey 03 Mar - Serbia
19 Nov - Netherlands 07 Apr - Italy
17 Dec - Finland 19 May - Belgium
14 Jan - Switzerland


Tuesday 01 October - Sweden - 1-3

  1. Bruno Poltronieri (W) lost to Charlie Åkerblom (KaninSWE, 5d) by 18.5 sgf
  2. Alex Kent (B) lost to Martin Li (MartinSWE, 4d) by Resignation sgf
  3. Des Cann (W) lost to Erik Ouchterlony (ejlo, 4d) on time sgf
  4. Jamie Taylor (B) beat Lova Wåhlin (hihello, 1d) by Resignation sgf

Tuesday 29 October - Turkey - 3-1

  1. Andrew Simons (B) beat Denis Karadaban (DenisK, 5d) by 14.5 sgf
  2. Bruno Poltronieri (W) lost to Emre Polat (Emre, 5d) by resignation sgf
  3. Jon Diamond (B) beat. Cagdas Yeloglu (robben, 2d) by 5.5 sgf
  4. Jamie Taylor (W) beat Kaan Malçok (posetcay, 2d) by 1.5 sgf

Tuesday 19 November - Netherlands - 3-1

  1. Andrew Simons (W) beat Filip Vander Stappen (Mukti, 5d) by resignation sgf
  2. Bruno Poltronieri (B) beat Herman Hiddema (herminator, 4d) by resignation sgf
  3. Alex Kent (W) beat Gelmer Bouwman (Gelmer, 3d) by resignation sgf
  4. Jon Diamond (B) lost to Merijn de Jong (Quincunx, 3d) by resignation sgf

Tuesday 17 December - Finland - 2-2

  1. Andrew Simons (W) beat Javier-Aleksi Savolainen (Ergoproxy,5d) by 7.5 sgf
  2. Bruno Poltronieri (B) lost to Vesa Laatikainen (baldur, 5d) by resignation sgf
  3. Alex Kent (W) lost to Mikko Siukola (FoxJohnson, 4d) by resignation sgf
  4. Jon Diamond (B) beat Johanna Tuominen (kyy, 1d) by 37.5 sgf

Tuesday 14 January - Switzerland - 1-3

  1. Andrew Simons (B) beat Fabien Lips (Fab, 4d) by resignation sgf
  2. Alex Kent (W) lost to Armel-David Wolff (Lovebach, 4d) by 16.5 sgf
  3. Sandy Taylor (B) lost to Sylvain Praz (gasana, 2d) by resignation sgf
  4. Des Cann (W) lost to Flavien Aubelle (Flavi, 2d) by resignation sgf

Tuesday 14 January - Lithuania - 4-0

  1. Alex Kent (W) beat Vladas Zaleskas (VladasLTU, 3d) by resignation sgf
  2. Sandy Taylor (B) No game
  3. Des Cann (W) No game
  4. Jamie Taylor (B) No game

Last updated Wed Feb 05 2020. If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.