Tournament List (Current Tournaments)

Current Tournaments Junior (Youth) Winners Current Tournaments
Past Winners
Non-Current Tournaments
with Winners

Click on Title, Title Holder or Tournament Type to sort into that order

Title Next Tournament Date Month Start Yearsort icon Description Title Holder Trophy Web site
MSO 9x9 30/08/2015

This is the 9x9 small board tournament that is part of the Mind Sports Olympiad, held each August in London.

9x9 boards

Aja Huang

The first event planned for 9 November 2014 was cancelled due to problems with the venue.

Sheffield 01/10/2015 October

New event.

British Championship 1965

Our premier national competition. It consists of several stages: Candidates' Tournament, Challengers' League and the Title Match, the results of which are shown here.

The title match is the best of three games; until 2010 it was best of five (apart from...

Andrew Kay Championship
British Open April 1968

This (British Go Congress) moves around the country each year.

Junnun Jiang
Wessex 25/10/2015 October 1970

One of the oldest events in the UK, this event was for many years run by Bristol club in the town hall in Marlborough in Wiltshire, a location chosen to easy driving in pre-motorway days. It then moved to Keynsham before settling down in Bath, with that club taking over running it.

Now a 3 round McMahon, but formerly 4 rounds, taking...

Tongzhou Cai Bath Go Club
London Open 28/12/2015 - 31/12/2015 December 1974
Central London Go Club ...
Chi-Min Oh London Open Go Congress
Northern 01/09/2015 September 1975

The Northern was originally a two-day event, with accommodation at one of the Manchester University halls of residence. It was a European Grand Prix event in 1993 and 1994 instead of London. It then was part of the MSO from 2003, when that was held in Manchester, and has since become a 3-round McMahon. For some years it was held in Stockport...

Ngoc-Trang Cao
British Open Lightning April 1976

This fast-play event is run at the British Go Congress, usually on the Friday evening. The tournament system varies from year to year. Nowadays the event is usually played with handicaps. It was originally a free-standing event.

Alex Rix
Challengers' League 23/05/2015 - 26/05/2015 May 1977

Part of the British Championship, is held to select the two players who will compete in the British Championship Title Match. Until 2005 it selected one challenger who played the reigning champion.

Players compete in the Candidates' Tournament for places in the...

Andrew Kay