Non-Current Tournaments

Current Title HoldersCurrent Tournaments
with Winners
Junior (Youth) Winners Current Tournaments
Past Winners

Click on the name of a tournament to see more details of that event.

Click on Type to sort into that order

Tournament Typesort icon Description Start Year Current Champion Trophy

Held at York University.

1982 John Smith
Fuseki Follow-On

In this tournament, a professional game had been chosen which had a close result and was adjudged close after the fuseki. Each player played this same game four times, twice as black and twice as white.


The first event planned for 9 November 2014 was cancelled due to problems with the venue.

London Open Small Board 13 x 13
Ken Dackombe
MSO Novices 13x13 13 x 13
2000 Tom Cooper
MSO 9x9 Junior or Beginners Beginners
1998 Nicholas Calderwood
Weak Knee Dans Grand Prix Grand Prix
1996 Alan Thornton
West Surrey Handicap Handicap

Four round handicap tournament. Replaced the Black Bull Handicap and was the RTP Handicap from 1987 to 1989. It ceased in 2011.

1987 Malcolm Hagan
Liverpool Handicap Handicap
2005 George Leach
Black Bull Handicap
Cheshire Handicap Handicap

The Handicap section played until 2014 over 5 (or 6) rounds alongside the Cheshire Open.

2001 Brian Timmins
Irish Handicap Handicap

Ceased in 2003

1992 Roger Daniel
London Open Handicap Handicap
2001 Roger Daniel
RTP Handicap Handicap
South London Kyu Players Handicap

In the main tournament in 2013 students were split into three groups, each of which played a Swiss tournament with handicap equal to grade difference. In 2015 it was a single Swiss group.

In the side tournament the teachers all play each other, together with any other dan players present, in a round-robin tournament with all games even.

Was held in West London in 2015.

2013 Alison Bexfield
MSO Rapid Lightning
1999 Tony Atkins
Isle of Man Lightning Lightning

This tournament is sometimes part of the Isle of Man Go Week. It is usually run self paired, followed by a final between the best two players.

1991 Joanne Leung
MSO Lightning Lightning
2000 Piers Shepperson
North East Lightning
1995 Simon Shiu
Letchworth Garden City Rapid Play Lightning
2014 Tim Hunt