Historic List of Council Members

From 2023 and conversion to CLG, officers are Board members and no longer Council members.

Current Board members can be seen here.

There are no records for Council membership prior to 1968, although John Barrs was President since the foundation of the Association (in 1953?).




Secretary *

1968-1969John BarrsBob HitchensDerek Hunter
1970John Barrs d 71-01-31Bob HitchensDerek Hunter
1971-1975Francis RoadsBob HitchensDerek Hunter
1976Bob HitchensAlison CrossDerek Hunter
1977Andrew DalyAlison CrossDerek Hunter
1978Brian Castledine d 79-02-28
Francis Roads a 79-03-31
Sharon CohenMatthew Macfadyen
1979Toby ManningTim Hazelden r 79-08-16
Brian Philp c
Matthew Macfadyen
Vincent West a 80-03-01
1980Toby ManningBrian PhilpMatthew Macfadyen
1981Toby ManningBrian Philp r 81-12-31
Bob Thompson c
Matthew Macfadyen r 82-03-08
Norman Tobin c
1982Toby ManningBob ThompsonNorman Tobin
1983Richard GranvilleBob ThompsonNorman Tobin
1984Richard GranvilleJeff AnsellNorman Tobin
1985Norman TobinJeff Ansell d 85-05-18
Andrew MacPherson c 85-06-16
Tony Atkins
1986-1990Norman TobinT Mark HallTony Atkins
1991Norman Tobin r 91-07-28
Alex Rix c 91-09-15
T Mark HallTony Atkins
1992-1998Alex RixT Mark HallTony Atkins
1999Alison Jones
m Bexfield 00-03-11
T Mark HallTony Atkins
2000Alison BexfieldT Mark HallTony Atkins
2001Simon GossT Mark HallTony Atkins
2002-2003Simon GossT Mark HallTim Hunt
2004-2005Simon GossT Mark HallBill Streeten
2006Ron BellSteve BaileyFred Holroyd
2007Ron BellSteve BaileyStephen Bashforth
2008Ron BellSteve BaileyEdwin Brady
2009Jon DiamondSimon MaderEdwin Brady
2010Jon DiamondSimon MaderJonathan Chin
2011-2015Jon DiamondToby ManningJonathan Chin
2016-2018Roger Huyshe d 17-11-12Toby ManningJonathan Chin
2018-2020Toby ManningRichard WheeldonJonathan Chin
2020-2023Toby ManningRichard Wheeldon r 22-11
Phil Beck c 22-09
Colin Williams
2023-Toby ManningPhil Beck Colin Williams


Board/Council members

1968Les BockJohn TilleyGeoffrey GrayJohn DiamondFrancis Roads
1969Les BockJohn TilleyGeoffrey GrayJohn DiamondFrancis Roads Tony GoddardAndrew Daly c
1970John RobinsonAndrew DalyGeoffrey GrayJohn DiamondFrancis Roads Graham PriestNeil Stein c
Dave Brooks c
Roger Hays c
1971John RobinsonAndrew DalyGeoffrey GrayJohn DiamondJohn Tilley John Sweeney c
1972Chris BartonAndrew DalyGeoffrey GrayJohn DiamondJohn Tilley
1973Chris Barton r 73-05-01Andrew DalyGeoffrey GrayJohn DiamondJohn Tilley
1974John AllenAndrew DalyT Mark HallJohn DiamondJohn Tilley
1975John AllenAlison CrossT Mark HallPaul PrescottJim Bates
1976John AllenToby Manning c 76-11-12Brian CastledineJohn Pusey c 76-11-12Jim Bates John FairbairnPaul Prescott r 76-10-19
1977David MitchellToby ManningBrian CastledineJohn PuseyMatthew Macfadyen Sharon Cohen c
1978David MitchellToby ManningRichard Hunter r 78-11-01Dave JohnsonBrian Philp Frank Pratt
c 78-09-01
r 79-02-02
1979Vincent West c 79-10-19Andrew Grant c 79-10-19Stuart DowseyDave JohnsonBrian Philp George AdieDavid Mitchell
r 79-06-24
1980David GotoAndrew GrantStuart DowseyJim BatesGeorge Adie r 80-09-20 Nick Webber c 80-12-05Sue Barnes c 80-12-05
1981David GotoAndrew GrantStuart DowseyNick Webber c 81-08-05John Hobson c 81-10-30 Bob Thompson c 81-10-30Norman Tobin
c 81-11-28
1982Mike Cockburn Andrew GrantStuart DowseyMatthew Macfadyen Richard Granville
1983John HobsonIan CarsonToby BaileyMatthew Macfadyen Mike Harvey
1984John HobsonIan Carson rAndy FinchStephanie PerksMike Harvey France Ellul c
1985France EllulAndrew MacPhersonMark CumperJustine LattimerMike Harvey r
1986Francis RoadsAndrew MacPhersonMark CumperJustine Lattimer Tim Hazelden
1987Francis RoadsAndrew MacPhersonMark CumperAlex Eve
c 87-12-06
Michael Carr c 88-02-07
1988Francis RoadsAndrew MacPhersonAlex RixAlex EveSteve Draper
1989Francis RoadsHugh Williams cAlex RixAlex EveSteve Draper
1990Andrew JonesHugh WilliamsAlex RixAlex EveAlison Franklin m Jones 90-04-21
1991Andrew JonesDavid Woodnutt c 91-11-10Alex RixAlex EveAlison Jones
1992Andrew JonesDavid WoodnuttSimon RuddAlex EveAlison Jones
1993Andrew JonesDavid WoodnuttSimon RuddPaul Smith
c 93-09-12
1994Andrew JonesDavid WoodnuttMark WainwrightPaul SmithKeith Osborne
1995Andrew JonesDavid WoodnuttMark WainwrightPaul HankinColin Adams r 96-03-23
1996Andrew JonesAdam AtkinsonMark WainwrightPaul Hankin
1997Andrew JonesAdam AtkinsonKevin Drake c 97-07-06Marcus Bennett
c 97-07-06
Charles Matthews Alison Jones
c 97-11-16
1998Steve BaileyBill StreetenKevin DrakeMarcus BennettCharles Matthews
r 99-02-07
Alison Jones
c 99-02-07
1999Steve BaileyBill StreetenKevin Drake r 99-09-12Marcus Bennett
r 99-09-12
Simon Goss Tim Hunt
c 00-03-05
2000Steve BaileyBill StreetenTim HuntChris Dawson Simon Goss
2001Steve BaileyBill StreetenTim HuntJackie Chai c
2002Steve BaileyBill StreetenLes BockJackie Chai
r 02-09-29
Natasha Regan cAnna Griffiths
c 03-01-07
2003Steve BaileyBill StreetenLes Bock
r 03-11-29
Anna Griffiths
2004Steve BaileyTim HuntAnna GriffithsFred HolroydDavid Ward
r 04-09-26
Stephen Bashforth
c 04-07-18
2005Steve BaileyTim HuntAnna GriffithsFred HolroydStephen BashforthBrian Brunswick
c 05-11-27
Ron Bell
c 05-11-27
2006Tim HuntAnna GriffithsStephen BashforthBrian Brunswick
2007Tim HuntAnna GriffithsFred HolroydBrian BrunswickXinyi LuGeoff Kaniuk
c 08-01-05
2008Anna GriffithsBrian BrunswickXinyi LuGeoff KaniukJoss WrightToby Manning
c 08-04-27
Jon Diamond
c 09-02-07
2009Brian BrunswickXinyi LuGeoff KaniukToby ManningGraham PhilipsJoss Wright
c 09-05-09
2010Brian BrunswickGeoff KaniukToby ManningEdwin BradyJohn CollinsJenny Radcliffe
c 10-05-08
2011Brian BrunswickJohn CollinsJenny RadcliffeColin MaclennanPaul Smith
2012Brian BrunswickJohn CollinsColin MaclennanPaul SmithMaria Tabor
2013Brian BrunswickJohn CollinsColin MaclennanRoger HuysheFred Holroyd
2014Brian BrunswickJohn CollinsColin MaclennanRoger Huyshe
2015Brian BrunswickJohn CollinsRoger HuysheDonald CampbellMatt MarshGerry Gavigan
c 15-03-28
r 15-10-16
2016John CollinsMatt MarshJonathan GreenAndrew RussellRichard Wheeldon
c 17-02
2017Matt MarshJonathan GreenAndrew RussellRichard WheeldonDavid Killen
c 17-11-25
2018Matt MarshAndrew RussellPat RidleyNeil SandfordGerry GaviganJoanne Leung
c 18-10
2019Matt MarshPat RidleyNeil SandfordGerry GaviganJoanne LeungColin Williams
c 20-03
2020Matt MarshPat RidleyNeil SandfordGerry GaviganJoanne Leung
2021Matt Marsh
r 21-09-05
Gerry Gavigan
r 21-09-24
Andrew Ambrose-Thurman Peter Rootham-SmithMohammed Amin
c 21-06-04
Stephen Tweedie
c 21-06-14
2022Andrew Ambrose-Thurman Peter Rootham-SmithMohammed AminStephen TweedieDavid KillenDylan Carter
c 22-07
r 22-12
Sam Bithell
c 23-02-19
Daniel Milne
c 23-02-19
2023Andrew Ambrose-Thurman Stephen TweedieDavid KillenSam BithellDaniel Milne


a = acting, c = co-opted, d = died, m = married, r = resigned

Council changes above are effective from the AGM, usually held in March or April.

* Secretary was split, with from 1974 a Book Distributor and from 1978 a Membership Secretary

Book DistributorFrom-ToMembership SecretaryFrom-To
John Allen1974-1977Derek Hunter1978-1984
John Deaton1977-1980Mike Harvey1984-1985
Brian Bolton1980-1982Brian Timmins1985-1991
Andy & Steph Finch1982-1985Terry Barker1991-1995
Clive Wright1985-1987Alison Jones1995-1998
Bob Bagot1987-1994Kathleen Timmins1998-2007
Gerry Mills1994-2010Phil Beck2007-2011
Roger Huyshe 2013-2017Paul Barnard2011-2017
Chris Kirkham2017 on

Life Members and Vice-Presidents
Journal Editors
Newsletter Editors

Last updated Thu Apr 20 2023.
If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.