British Championship 2017

Champion: Daniel Hu

The 2017 British Championship started in April 2016. All those who played in tournaments between April 2016 and March 2017 and ended with an EGF rating of 1900 or higher are on the list of qualifiers. Note: This list contains players who may not be members or do not have the required British nationality or residency requirements. The qualifiers were able to play in the Candidates' Tournament from 29th April to 1st May 2017 and the best players from this could join the reigning champion in the Challengers' League from 27th May to 30th May 2017. Both events were held in West London.

However Junnan Jiang declined to defend his title and so the top 8 players progressed to the Challengers' League - the top two to play for the title, namely Daniel Hu and Andrew Simons.

  1. Charles Hibbert vs. Andrew Kay
  2. Andrew Simons vs. Daniel Hu
  3. Charles Hibbert vs. Andrew Simons
  4. N/A
  5. Andrew Kay vs. Andrew Simons
  6. Andrew Simons vs. Tim Hunt
  7. Andrew Kay vs. Daniel Hu

Game 1 in 2017's best-of-three title Match between Daniel Hu and Andrew Simons was on Saturday 19th August at a private venue (Geoff Kaniuk's house) in Cambridge, with live online relay in the British Room on KGS and parallel live commentary by Matthew Macfadyen from 10:00.

Game 2 was on Saturday 30th September at a private venue (Simon Mader's flat) in Cambridge, with live online relay in the English Room on KGS.

Daniel Hu won the match 2-0 and became British Champion.

Last updated Tue Jul 24 2018.
If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.